Driving an RV in Michigan can provide many a memorable vacation for you and your family, but your state government requires you to carry the same minimum level of insurance on your RV as on your car or truck.
Shield Insurance Agency wants you to understand that there’s no getting around this law. If you get caught driving without auto/RV insurance in the state, you’ll get hit with a costly fine and potentially lose your license, although perhaps temporarily.
RV Insurance Requirements in Michigan
As a no-fault state, Michigan requires every driver on its roads to carry insurance that would cover their own damages or those incurred to another party’s vehicle. You’ll need to purchase at least the following coverage levels:
bodily injury coverage in the amount of $20,000 per person per accident,
bodily injury coverage in the amount of $40,000 per accident for all persons injured or killed,
property damage in the amount of $10,000 per accident,
personal injury protection (PIP) with no limits,
property protection insurance (PPI) in the amount of $1 million per accident.
You can and should add to your RV insurance coverage by tacking on collision and comprehensive coverage. Your collision coverage provides reimbursement for damages when you incur a single-vehicle accident. Comprehensive coverage protects you from theft and other unavoidable perils. Roadside assistance coverage can help you obtain quick service when your RV breaks down on the road. Car rental insurance can mean you have a vehicle while your RV undergoes repairs.
Contact Shield Insurance Agency to discuss the state minimum requirements and add-ons that would provide full coverage for your RV. Don’t drive without insurance in Michigan.